Dr. Kirti Gupta (Chandigarh) – Mesmerising Ladakh Aug 2016

★★★★★

Kirti-Gupta Ladakh Testimonials

Mesmerizing ladakh: Somewhere in middle of August, when a group of sixteen strangers signed up for Exploring Ladakh with Light Chasers and Canon mentor, Jassi Oberai, little did they now that they would end up being friends for life and part of Light Chasers family or Jassi’s family.A trip so meticulously planned and executed by Jassi, a thorough gentleman, a photographer and guide par excellence and yet a teenager at heart when it comes to cracking jokes. Not only did they chase light, they chased fun, frolic with laughter riots, camping nights, milky ways, amidst interiors of Nubra valley, Aryan Valley, Turtuk, Dha, Hunder and Panong lake. Jassi Sir, the one who organized this trip looked after each one of us just as he would for his family, making us feel comfortable from beginning until the end of the trip. Only few realized that each day after long tiring road drives and journeys, how this man would stay put at the reception counter until each one of us had retired to our rooms to freshen up and yet he would be again at the dining table to give an hour long session on post processing techniques, his reviews and his constructive criticism. Hats off to you, Jassi. Supriya Suriyanarayanan, the chirpy girl bubbling with fun and laughter, who charmed us all with her generosity. Keep it alive girl.Gaganpreet Singh, who received a money order right in the middle of the night much to Aruna ji’s dismay!! And the one who would never stop to regale us with his hilarious one liners. Gagan: Entertainment tax is waived off for you on all your future trips with LC. Rishi Agrawal the ex-IITian, full of information on just about anything..It was great meeting you, dost.Nishant Singh, with new-found stardom, the new kid/photographer on the block. Sheik Faqruddin, the complacent one with charming personality and a sense of calm about him. Papiha, in her quest to fit everything in her frame, co-incidentally getting in everyone’s frame (on light note). Gargi Mukherjee, the girl on the front wheel drive impressing everyone with her clicks and with her interesting sighs (again on a lighter note). Immanuel Abraham the elusive one, a master photographer with milky ways and star trails. Susheel Durani and Ma’am, Neelam Durani: Admire your spirit and enthusiasm which made us run for cover, when we were out to shoot the galaxy in the middle of the night. Dhun: trying to find himself amidst a bunch of crazy photographers. Doc Saab, Shikhar, the ever observant one, who looked after all the sick ones with so much care. Aruna ji, my lips are sealed here (on lighter note again) Rajneesh Panwar: A mentor in grooming, his fish eye covered almost everyone in its circumference , though got skewed at times.


In ‘Long and short’ of it (Jassi 😉 …it was Jassi who brought us all together on this platform. Thanks for including me and us in your family of Light Chasers. This trip turned out to be truly mesmerizing for each one of us and we can’t agree more, we all arrived at our destinations with cards full of warm memories. Looking forward to many such trips…If its Ladakh..it got to be Light Chasers..

Dr. Kirti Gupta (Chandigarh) – Mesmerising Ladakh Aug 2016

★★★★★

Kirti-Gupta Ladakh Testimonials

“A picture is worth a thousand words, a good picture is worth a million! That is exactly what the mentors at Light Chasers do; teach how to take ‘good’ pictures.

Photography was something that interested me, but it was limited to clicking random shots here and there. I had stumbled upon the web site a few days back. I wasn’t sure if going to a difficult terrain like Ladakh was the right thing to do, just to hone your photography skills. But Jassi and his team put all my doubts to rest in those ten days. Teaching photography is a passion that Jassi breathes on and lives to the core. He knows all the vantage locations, even in the remotest of villages, Turtuk, Dha, Hanu. He is ever eager to give tips on framing, composition and all the nuances of clicking with a quick session on post-processing as well.

You go with just a camera and come back not only with the skills to use it to the best but also indescribable experience of camping under starry  skies, shooting stars, milk ways with new friends that no camera can capture.

Seeing Ladakh through Jassi’s lens is an unparalleled experience. .. Truly mesmerising”

Sheik Faqruddin (Singapore) – Mesmerising Ladakh Aug 2016

★★★★★

Sheik-Faqruddin Ladakh Testimonials

It was few days before my last day at the job, was asking google to help me with to do something worthwhile which I could cherish for lifetime. Ladakh was one destination with high priority in my bucket list and “Light Chasers” had the perfect trip what I needed.

I would give a 7 star for this trip and light chasers Jassi Oberai and Rajneesh Panwar. Arrangement, Logistics, Photo Mentoring, Location Scouting, Review and Critics, Time Management and even the smallest details of comfort has been taken care off. Once you are with Light Chasers, only worry is to ensure you have enough Memory Card and you are able to capture what you visualise and the rest is taken care off. When I came back from this trip not only I got the photos I wanted, I had grown to be a better photographer both from technical skills as well as social skills perspective. Not to forget i have made very good friends and memory which will be cherished. Double thumps up for Light Chasers.

Susheel Durani (Mumbai) – Mesmerising Ladakh Aug 2016

★★★★★

Susheel-Durani Ladakh Testimonials

Fate sometimes will present you with the gift well beyond your plans or expectations. Such experiences are life enriching and can fill you with not only joy and satisfaction but also gratitude. For me being not only alive but also reasonably healthy at 65, the age when both my grand fathers had–after rich lives–already departed, was a gift enough to not only be thankful for but also rejoice. Accordingly, I made plans to retrace some of the exotic travels of my grandfather. My grandfather was a land-revenue officer of the J & K State. For close to 30 years up to 1950, the year I was born, he had served as the district-administration head of many remote places of J & K, including Kargil, Drass, Pulwama, Badgam, Ramban, Kishtwad, Basohli, and Akhnoor. His exotic travels were the stuff of grandma tales of my childhood.
Last year, I visited Akhnoor and early this year I decided to visit Basohli. Instead, I was fated to find a different but equally exotic Basohli in Kumaon hills of Uttrakhand. I shared the story on FB.
A couple of months back, I and my wife Neelam Durani decided to visit Ladakh. While preparing for what is a daunting journey, we came across #LightChasers and their Photo Tour #MesmericLadakh. The discovery unfolded a surprise that was to be life enriching for me and well beyond my dreams. The person who was fated to help me live my wildest childhood dreams of exotic J & K was the promoter, organizer, and photo-mentor of #MesmericLadakh, Jassi Oberai. Jassi Oberai​ is a perfectionist as not only photography mentor but also tour organizer. One would have expected him to cover all the well known touristy places of Ladakh, which he did, but for me there was a lot more. Being a perfectionist Jassi included in his Ladakh tour the remote and difficult to access places, like, Baltistan and Dardistan, simply because of the opportunity for really exotic and rare portraiture. Both the places because of the extreme terrain and difficult access are the well preserved bowls of cultural, ethnic, and genetic antiquity that is unusual for the modern times. For me the experience of visiting the places turned out to be the dream of my grandmas tales. I have been sharing and shall continue to share the stories on FB. This post is simply to acknowledge Jassi Oberai and thank him. Jassi ji you have turned out to be the angel destiny had planted in order to ensure that I certainly will relive my childhood dream and in a measure much beyond the limits of my imagination. Thanks to you for the exotic and memorable experience of our lives. Because of the tour I and Neelam have made many new friends for life. We specifically value your friendship and surely will travel with #LightChasers again in the future.”

Gargi Mukherjee (Bangalore) – Mesmerising Ladakh Aug 2016

★★★★★

Gargi-Mukherjee Ladakh Testimonials

The ‘Mesmerizing Ladakh’ photo tour is my first ever photo tour; and I must say it was one of the best decision I have taken for my passion for photography. I had been to Ladakh as a tourist a few years back and was mesmerized by its beauty, hence always wanted to go back. But after this trip with Light Chasers I must say I am left spellbound. Their itinerary was very well planned and I am glad that they took us to less touristy places so that we get better opportunities to capture beautiful shots of nature & people. Memories collected along the journey are simply the bonus.
The infinite landscapes and natural beauty of Ladakh is not only intoxicating and at times so overwhelming that if you do not have the right mentor to guide, you might end up using thousands of shutter and come back with not even one shot really to be proud of! I feel lucky that I had chosen to do my first photo tour with Light Chases in Ladakh and got the opportunity to learn from Jassi Oberoi & Rajneesh Panwar. They not only helped us understand the technicalities of photography but also navigated us to ensure that we get the best experience of capturing the beauty of Ladakh. I feel more confident as a photographer than ever before. Travelling with a mentor par excellence Jassi, and an unconventional fine art photographer Rajneesh has certainly given me ROI beyond my expectation! Something more that this tour has given me are a few Friends for Life – who share the same passion as me – photography and travelling. I believe tours like this give all participants an opportunity to meet likeminded people outside our obvious circle of known faces, and let them share ideas and learn from each other.
In the middle of all the fun, madness, photography, travelling Jassi always made sure we have structured image review, feedback & group discussion sessions on compositions, storytelling, camera technicalities, post productions etc. When I say feedback – I really mean feedback, not minced sugar coated words to make someone feel happy with something substandard; the result of it I believe I am back with some of the best shots I have ever taken in my life till date. I am already registered for Magical Pushkar in Nov with LCA and looking forward to attending their post-productions workshops soon, that’s I sure tells how confident I am about them.
Something I would like to tell about what to expect from Ladakh – it’s not an easy terrain, and the amount of time a tourist spends outside their car & hotel is far less than the amount of time as a photographer spends. So it is important to take protections, precautions, stay calm and let the lead know at the earliest, if you need help.  Jassi, was always attentive to our health concerns, ready with medicine, gave us enough time to rest and get ready for next challenge. I must say for the entire period of my tour I felt that I’m with my family – always had that’s the sense of warmth & security.
Thank you team Light Chasers & team LetsLeh for all the invisible work that you do!

Supriya Suriyanarayanan (Bangalore) – Mesmerising Ladakh Aug 2016

★★★★★

Supriya17 Ladakh Testimonials

My third time writing a testimonial for Light Chasers and it’s probably easier to come up with unique, new photographic perspective every time than thinking of new things to say about them.
I was in an unique position to judge their work, since this was my second consecutive time attending the Mesmerising Ladakh tour. I visited with them last year and one visit definitely was not enough. While the stunning landscapes and the kind people of  Ladakh can take the credit for leaving an indelible impression on travellers, Light Chasers need to take a bow for finding unique ways of representing Ladakh. As photographers and humans, I believe we have the responsibility of doing justice to the places we visit & people we meet. Light Chasers enabled us to do that & more. New vantage points regularly identified for landscapes, inclusion of places like Turtuk and Aryan village for people photography means you can come back with more than the ubiquitous photos of Ladakh.
Photography apart, managing a group tour is a difficult endeavour. Jassi, the Light Chasers & LetsLeh team (including the drivers and hotel owners) were exceptional in taking care of every participant. Ladakh can be a physical reality check for the fittest of people and it’s important you have a team that can address health issues immediately. The Light Chasers team took every concern we highlighted seriously and even adjusted the itinerary to give some of us the rest we needed. These are things that can make or break a tour for us travellers & Light Chasers come out on top.
Kudos to a job well done, team Light Chasers! Actions do speak louder than words – my biggest testimonial for Light Chasers is planning the next tour with them while still on the current one. Last year, I signed up for their Pushkar tour and this year, I signed up for their Varanasi tour.

Arunaa Singh (Lucknow) – Mesmerising Ladakh Aug 2016

★★★★

arunaa Ladakh Testimonials

LADAKH……….. HEAVEN ON EARTH.
I am very happy to join the Light Chasers for organised the group very well and every body got the familiar care.
All the members of the group was very helping in nature.
I miss the beauty of Ladakh .the land escape of  Ladakh was very beautiful. We shot portraits and landscapes.
At last I thank Light Chasers and all group members for a wonderful time.

Gaganpreet Singh (Jodhpur) – Mesmerising Ladakh Aug 2016

★★★★★

gaganpreet-s Ladakh Testimonials

I was delighted to attend the Mesmerising Ladakh Tour in August-Septemeber 2016.

It is one of the Longest Tours that Light chasers offers which is also the unique USP of the tour. I would recommend this tour to photo enthusiasts who are eager to learn as you have nearly 11 days to learn 3 geners of photography namely Travel,Portrait and Landscape.Each Day you shoot pictures and show them to Jassi Oberai and then based on the pictures you are provided Inputs as to which areas you need to improve in terms of Composition,Framing and other vital aspects of photography.

If your are willing to Learn and perhaps UNLEARN some of the things that you have learnt in the past But your are not getting the desired results and want a close one on one guided photography tour experience this Tour is for you. All you need to do is pack your bags and reach Leh.

Lodging,Food and Travel is taken care of very well By Jassi Oberai in association with Letsleh.

Shreya Sen on Nomadic Ladakh – a photography expedition to Ladakh

★★★★★

Shreya-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Wanted to drop a thank you note to Light Chasers and Canon for our recent photo expedition to Ladakh. Specially to Jassi sir for patiently answering my relentless questions, always making us laugh with his light heartedness, genuine & kind personality. Pankaj sir for his support and willingness to listen, guide and give valuable feedback which made it a great learning experience. Really also appreciate Jassi sir’s enthusiasm and passion to make the effort to see to it that we covered most of landscapes, monasteries, people of Ladakh and make the most of this beautiful place as a traveller and more importantly as a photographer. Was great to share this journey with fellow enthusiasts and a group who were so talented and equally passionate about creating beautiful images. I am glad that even though we were a bunch of strangers we had our share of laughter, tad bit of drama and whole lot of Maggie, chai and fun which made Ladakh lot more memorable than I expected it to be. I also wanted to personally thank my room mate Sunayna who is also a part of light chasers. Thank you SUU this trip would not have been as much fun without your laughing hysterics and crazy conversations. Looking forward to Pushkar next!! I strongly recommend anyone who enjoys photography and traveling to join in these tours with Light Chasers. I am an extremely shy person but at no point did I feel uncomfortable or out of place during the tour thanks to being on a platform with people who shared the same love for photography as I do. Secondly you learn a lot more since one is in a practical field along with experts and other photographers. I wish Light Chasers the best and hope to chase many more photographic journeys in the future with you guys.

Kritika Kishore (New Delhi) – Mesmerising Ladakh – Aug. 2014
★★★★★

Kritika-Kishore-2 Ladakh Testimonials

Ladakh was an immortal experience. Jassi and the group were so supportive with the exact same love and passion for photography as I have which made it an even more fun trip. Learning, Exploring and getting Submerged in natural beauty in complete awe. The preparations, the guidance, the care– everything made this trip a very very successful event for me. I made some great friends and mentors for life. I am grateful. Thank you Jassi Oberoi and Pankaj Anand.

Hitesh Chhabra (Mumbai) – Mesmerising Ladakh – Aug 2014

★★★★★

Hitesh-Chhabra Ladakh Testimonials

New friends, New places, New relationships truly a Spellbinding Trip organised by Light Chasers. I wanted to join Mesmerizing Ladakh Photo Tour in 2013 itself but due to some reasons couldn’t join in but I am Glad everything turned out well in 2014 and here I am, a week has passed already and I am missing it to the core. Met people who are Gentle at heart and really passionate. Each and every location right from Jispa to Aryan Valley was mesmerizing. Training given by Jasminder Sir really helped us to visualize things near us in a completely different way. The best part was that Sir also fulfilled the promise given to some people regarding their pictures. I had never imagined such beautiful places. The amount of research done by him on each and every place is truly amazing. It is really hard to take best pictures every year if you visit the same place but Sir manages every time which amazed us even more. Each and every genre of photography was covered whether it be Portraits, Nightscapes & Landscapes, also Light Painting. Kudos to all his efforts in taking care of each and every member specially the night where Jassi Sir and Pankaj Sir sacrificed their sleep and made sure one of the team member is fine. I would call this one of my BEST trip of all times. I had only written Nubra Valley and Pangong Tso in my bucket list but after exploring all these Beautiful unknown places I wish to revisit again specially Turtuk and Aryan Valley. Sir: “djule thugdzetche” for this Wonderful experience of lifetime.

Hitesh Goswami (Bangalore) – Mesmerising Ladakh – Aug. 2014

★★★★★

Hitesh-Goswami-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Most wonderful experience I have ever had. I think it is one of my best decision to register for the Mesmerizing Ladakh tour with Lightchasers. The best part about Lightchasers is the man himself, Jassi Sir. I am sure you would not enjoy the beauty of Leh_Ladakh unless you see it through the lens of Jassi Sir. I would like to commend him for the way he planned the tour and managed the group. The best part is, that every stage he made sure that the group members comfort is not compromised. We were accommodated at the best hotels, tent resorts, food and travel. I am sure the places we visited, the destinations, the photography opportunity spots that were shown to us by Jassi Sir, we would have never seen, if we would have planned it alone or with family or friends. Jassi Sir just knows the place so well that you will never miss a single scenic beauty in Leh ladakh, be it in terms of landscapes, Horses running in an open field, beautiful looking people for portrait shooting, clear non cluterous and star filled night skies, running stream, lakes or rivers, high altitude passes like Khardungla or Changla. You think of the situation and you would have seen it and captured it in the 10 days tour. Learning photography was sheer pleasure from the genius (Jassi Sir). He is superlatively patient and superiorly talented and he will make sure that he will transfer all his experience, expertise and knowledge regarding photography at every possible opportunity. You might start the tour as a random photo clicker but you will surely leave as a photographer. I can go on and on an on. Finally, guys, this is one tour you should enroll for if you like photography and also want to enjoy Leh-Ladakh in its true mesmerizing beauty. Thank you Jassi Sir for everything. Wish you all the success and looking forward to joining for another photo tour with Light Chasers 🙂 Cheers !!!

Nitin Agarwal (California, USA) – Mesmerising Ladakh – Aug 2014
★★★★★

Nitin-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Ladakh is a truly mesmerizing adventure, especially for photographers. I have been wanting to go to this place for quite sometime and finally when I got a chance, it was simply amazing. I came to know about light-chasers by simply browsing online. Initially, I was a little hesitant as to how are photo tours conducted in India. But after meeting Jassi Oberoi, I had no doubts that I would love this excursion. He is a nice mentor to have, down to earth and caring as well. Being on the tour with him, we could totally enjoy, learn and soak in the beauty of Ladakh. He is extremely well prepared to handle every natural mishap there might be during the expedition. He keeps our comfort and learning at the top of his priority list. Finally, I would like to say that I would definitely recommend photo tours with light-chasers because with them, learning simply doesn’t end here, it continues life long.

Suvro Ghosh (New Delhi) – Mesmerising Ladakh, June 2014

★★★★★

Suvro-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Ladakh trip was there in my mind for a long time. As all know, this place can only be compared with ‘Heaven on Earth’ and it will always remain ‘Mesmerising’ anyway. That’s not what I would like to say now. The trip ‘Mesmerising Ladakh’ June-July2014 I participated was organised by Light Chasers was just an experience on its own. I know Jassi for few years now and the least I would like to say that he is a gem of a person to be with and be around. In this trip I came to know him little more. He is far from any tour operator, rather a friend, philosopher and guide in all means. That too 24×7. May that be early morning making everyone get up to ensuring everyone had food to checking photographs of all participants and helping them improve the quality of photographs. I think only he could manage to gather other 14 of us, who could mingle in no time from day one and experience this lifetime experience for next two week plus time. In spite of all hurdles nature put forward, the beauty of the place along with the like minded people together, it always ended with only aloud laughter. Hats of to Jassi for all his efforts and thanks again to all the team members. I hope to meet all of them in another trip, so if not anything, we can laugh together once again as we did in this trip.

Neeraj Jain (Chandigarh) – Memserising Ladakh, June, 2014

★★★★★

Neeraj-1 Ladakh Testimonials

A drive to Ladakh had long been on my bucket list. When I got to know about a photo trip to Ladakh I knew this was it. What better way to visit a place you so long desired to than in the company of like minded photographers. But what I got on the tour was a lot more than that. Jassi knows the region at the back of his hand. His immaculate planning, detailed itinerary, focus on the smallest detail and his vast knowledge on the subject of photography was much more than I anticipated. The arrangements of cars, stays in camps/hotels/guest houses and other arrangements were all without any hiccups. Our stopping every now and then for small photo sessions on roadside were very rewarding. To arrange for a tour as smooth in such remote corners is no mean job and Jassi pulled it off fantastically. As for his commitment, photo skills and teaching attitude I believe there could be none better. He has been an excellent friend, mentor and guide on the tour. To top it all other participants were all great people to be with and the learning, fun, laughter and every other moment of the tour will be cherished for a long time to come.

Neeta Shankar (Bangalore) – Mesmerising Ladakh, June 2014

★★★★★

Neeta-1 Ladakh Testimonials

We had been to Ladakh this year with Light Chasers and had an absolutely wonderful time!! It is always fun to travel with fellow photographers as you always tend to learn and observe something new. I have known Jassi for quite sometime now. Having known him, I knew the arrangements would be just perfect and it would be a great experience to travel with one of the best landscape photographers in India. The tour was amazing of course, the stay was arranged in the most picturesque locations possible! The best part of it all was the company. I got to meet some of the nicest people ever and I don’t remember laughing so much in any other trip. I think the journey matters more than the destination and the company you travel with matters more than the journey itself. I had a small mishap where my equipment malfunctioned right at the beginning of the trip. It so happens that the pictures from my previous trip to Ladakh in 2010 were also lost due to a hard drive failure. Talk about bad luck! I was feeling so disheartened that I would once again miss out on some amazing frames. But Jassi to the rescue, lent me another replacement lens, which literally saved my trip! Jassi, I owe you big time for that!

Varun Giridhara (Bangalore) – Mesmerising Ladakh, June 2014

★★★★★

Varun Ladakh Testimonials

My wife and I hardly go on organized tours. We like doing the booking ourselves. We have known Jassi for a while now and the moment we saw that he is organizing a photo tour to Ladakh, we didn’t think much before booking it. We had the confidence in him and his company Light Chasers that it will be a very well organized tour and won’t be the usual run-of-the-mill organized tour for tourists. Arrangements made even in the remotest part of Ladakh were brilliant. The views we had from our rooms/tents were breathtaking to say the least. Jassi was available 24*7 for any help anyone needed and made sure the well-being of all participants was well taken care of. The aptly titled Mesmerizing Ladakh photo tour organized by Light Chasers was indeed a mesmerising experience and something we’ll always cherish.

Khushboo Bhatia (New Delhi) – Mesmerising Ladakh, June 2014

★★★★★

Khushboo-Bhatia Ladakh Testimonials

The Mesmerizing Ladakh photo tour, organized by Jassi (Light Chasers), truly justified it’s name, not only in terms of the place, but also in terms of an individual and group. The facilities, the places covered, the stay arrangements were amazing. I went to Leh for the first time and had it not been with Jassi, I wouldn’t have seen the places we saw in this tour. The breathtaking beauty of the remote places, the beautiful smiles greeting us, the hospitality of those people made us believe that every element composing these places was equally beautiful. The beauty was in air. Jassi has always been helping us with our shots. He was a mentor, a friend, and a teacher, all at the same time. He would entertain our slightest of concerns and would make sure of finding a solution for it. The stay was not easy due to high altitude, but measures taken by him did not make us feel uncomfortable at any moment. He was always present was anything to everything. Moreover, as an icing on the cake, the group I went with composed of amazing, caring, hilarious, light hearted, strong minded and interesting people. Mesmerizing Ladakh was a truly mesmerizing experience for me. I wish to thank Light Chasers, Jassi and all the participants for making it an experience of a lifetime. Hoping to join in for another tour soon. Loads of love and good wishes… Khushboo Bhatia

Soham Modak (Mumbai) – Mesmerising Ladakh, June 2014

★★★★★

Soham-1 Ladakh Testimonials

I have been trying to travel to Leh – Ladakh since last 3 – 4 years but all efforts had been in vain. This year tho i decided to travel no matter what & started searching for decent itineraries but couldn’t find anything that caught my eye in particular. Light Chasers with their Mesmerising Ladakh Photo Tour came to my rescue when all else failed with their unique & dedicated tour plan focusing on Photography & thats what set them aside from everyone else. Jassi Sir was patient enough to answer all my queries however silly they might have been at the earliest & without any reservations & i finally signed up for the tour still with a little hesitation as i had never travelled with completely unknown people but again Jassi Sir came to my rescue & made me feel very comfortable the moment i met him at the bus stop to leave for Manali & form then ahead the journey was a cruise in every sense. All my fellow tour members were from different walks of life & they all had different views in terms of photography & thats what helped me on a personal level to understand & learn soo many things which had never crossed my mind & to add to that Jassi was always there with us to help us out in every way possible & he kept on guiding us regarding all most every single aspect how much ever relevant or irrelevant at that time. At no point did Jassi make us feel that he was just there because it was his job as he was present there 100% because he wanted to be there… The arrangements like stay, food, places we visited all were taken care soo perfectly by Jassi which was amazing despite the fact that we coincidently visited Leh during Kalchakra 2014 which did surely pose a challenge. I have personally seen a change in my photographs & they have become better & better with almost each passing day which couldn’t have been possible without Jassi Sir’s help, review & guidance. The “cherry on top” was that the entire group gelled soo well which raised the fun factor in everything for from ROFL moments at all meal tables weather in hotels/tents or even roadside eateries, drinking weird named juices at restaurants, cracking jokes & even teasing each others with lolly-pop’s… I met these people as fellow tour mates but left as friends waiting to meet up again. Ladakh is in every sense Mesmerising beyond compare & doubt, but what made the entire trip epic for me was that i choose Light Chasers to experience this journey with & it was fulfilling in every sense to make me wanna go back there over & over again only with Jassi & Light Chasers. I met Jassi as a mentor, guide at the start but left with him as a new friend with nothing more that a new found love & respect for him & his dedication to what he loves most, photography. Thank You Jassi & Light Chasers for this wonderful experience, cant wait for another one soon.

Binit Patel (Ahmedabad) – Mesmersing Ladakh, June 2014

★★★★★

Binit-2-1 Ladakh Testimonials

What to say where to start its pretty much confusing but lets begin anyways I traveled with Jassi Oberai on The Mesmerizing Ladakh photo tour in June 2014 it was unforgettable trip in best of the manner before going on trip I always thought that accommodations will be pretty basic Leh onwards but Jassi provided us with best possible accommodations at all places we stayed, apart from stays Jassi also looked after the health aspects of the whole group which was quite critical part for all of us on trip as most of us weren’t used to the high altitudes and extreme changes in temperatures and lastly the most importantly it was truly a great photo tour with the Light Chasers I didn’t feel like a tourist who is just shooting at particular spots but felt like a traveler who explored the places as I wished for as we were allowed to stop cars and shoot as frequently as we want rather than just going from point A to B with fixed time. Jassi as tour mentor was easily approachable for guidance anytime during the trip and in evening we had lectures regarding different camera settings and lighting conditions etc. which helped my photography in many ways. in short had best of the time as an explorer and photographer I will surely be traveling with Light Chasers again.

Rhucha Kulkarni (Mumbai) – Mesmerising Ladakh, June 2014

★★★★★

Rhucha-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Offbeat places, laugh-riots and fun riots, photography techniques, new people, common Passions .. what more can be said about a trip that has turned out to be a trip of a lifetime for us ! “Mesmerizing Ladakh” was truly one of its kind ..words may not do justice to the breath-taking experience we had ! What really caught my attention is the truly offbeat itinery which was designed so as to include least trodden places – ranging from near the frontiers of PoK ( Turtuk ) to that of Tibet (Maan, Pangong). I had been planning for a Ladakh trip since quite sometime and the double benefit of this unique itinery along with the idea of learning from a like-minded group urged me to take this up…Learning techniques and tips from Jassi and others in the group was very useful … What really helped is the frequent halts at scenic locations to suit our photography tastes & for someone like me – trying out new styles such as slow shutter, start trails, time lapse etc.. Jassi personally ensured the arrangements were the best possible especially looking at the remoteness of some locations. His support and care helped us acclimatize well and ensured we were fit and going throughout the trip. He personally pays a lot of attention to minute details of the journey ensuring everyone got to know each other and had a blast – courtesy his JD (Jassi’s dawai) and laugh riots. All in all it was an unforgettable trip where we lost track of time in the midst of breathtaking beauty.. and now are suffering from “Mesmerizing Ladakh” withdrawal symptoms which can be cured only by a similar trip !! I would definitely love to grab the next opportunity that comes my way … Thanks a lot Light Chasers for a once in a lifetime experience !

Manoj Finava, Rajkot
★★★★★

Manoj-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Wonderful. The mentor and other colleagues were very experienced and cooperative and ready to teach where we went wrong. In short, very nice.

Arvind Lodha, Chennai
★★★★★

Arvind-1 Ladakh Testimonials

It was my first ever tour and I had a great learning experience of all aspects of people photography.

Sunayana Sodhani (Singapore) on Nomadic Ladakh – a photography expedition to Ladakh

★★★★★

 

Glad to be part of this tour where mentors helped participants to understand the technicalities of photography at personal level. Will eagerly wait of future tours with Light Chasers and Canon.

Yash Dalvi (Mumbai) on Nomadic Ladakh – a photography expedition to Ladakh

★★★★★

Yash-Dalwi Ladakh Testimonials

Amazing experience at Nomadic Ladakh photo tour in terms of help, interaction and opportunities. It was great to see the comfort of the group and give & take between participants.

Madhav Swar (Goa) on Nomadic Ladakh  – a photography expedition to Ladakh

★★★★★

Madhav-Swar-1 Ladakh Testimonials

The photo tour (Nomadic Ladakh) has helped me greatly in understanding technical aspects of photography and has also helped me in improving my skills. Will look forward to more such tours from Light chasers and Canon.

John Pinheiro (Goa) on Nomadic Ladakh – a photography expedition to Ladakh

★★★★★

John Ladakh Testimonials

Nomadic Ladakh tour was much better than my expectations. Planned well. enjoyed every bit of it. Worth the money spent.

Nandish Mehta (Mumbai) on Nomadic Ladakh – a photography expedition to Ladakh

★★★★★

Nandish-Mehta Ladakh Testimonials

Learnt a lot of technicalities pertaining to composition, exposure, light etc. in this tour. I liked the connect of host with all the participants and personal touch given by them.

Raj Dave (Mumbai) on Nomadic Ladakh – a photography expedition to Ladakh

★★★★★

Raj-Dave Ladakh Testimonials

The Nomadic Ladakh photo tour has helped me greatly in understanding the technical aspects of photography and has also helped me in improving my skills. We look forward to more such tours from Canon and Light Chasers.

Amey Kulkarni (Mumbai) – Mesmerising Ladakh, June 2014

★★★★★

Amey-Kulkarni-1 Ladakh Testimonials

The ‘Mesmerizing Ladakh’ photo tour organized by Light Chasers was truly mesmerizing in all senses. The Light Chasers team, especially Jassi ensured that this would become the journey of a lifetime for us. Even before the start of the tour the emails articulating the minutest of details prepared us for this wonderful trip. In the entire duration of the trip Jassi took great care of us, be it giving us medicines to combat AMS, providing us with water or instructing us on the dos and don’ts. The accommodation arrangements in all the locations (however remote they might be) were first-class. Jassi personally ensured that we are comfortable in these places. The wonderful part of the trip was its unique itinerary, taking us to places which are beyond words. The daily schedule provided us ample opportunities to capture the beauty of the ‘Land of High Passes’through our lenses. With Jassi’s expert guidance, there was a lot that we learned and have carried back with us. What truly made this trip memorable were the fellow participants. We were all a big happy, laughing family cracking jokes and learning from each other. I would like to thank Light Chasers and Jassi for organizing this trip and making sure we take back countless memories of it with us. This is a start of many more such tours to come for me with Light Chasers.

Dr. Vimal Hemani (Rajkot) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Vimal Ladakh Testimonials

Ladakh Photography Tour for 16 days? As a practicing surgeon, obviously I can’t spare so many days from my practice. And will it be worth it? This was my apprehension towards going out for photography but my friend Binit Patel made my choice easier. He insisted i go to the Mesmerizing Ladakh Photo Tour with Light Chasers, i.e. Jassi Obaroi. Apprehension continued till the time I met my fellow colleagues Satya and Ashwini on Delhi Airport and it ended when we met Jassi in Srinagar. Such a charming, humble, witty, down to earth personality Jassi is… It’s very hard to find such qualities in great people from any field. As far as the tour goes, it exceeded the expectations set by my friend. The tour was planned meticulously. Accommodations everywhere were at the best possible locations and Jassi always made sure that we had the best food and looked after us throughout. He made sure that no one fell sick and if someone did, he was always there to take care of him or her. As a photography mentor, he is very simple, approachable and ready to guide us in getting the best possible shots. He would let all the cars stop, locate the compositions, teach and discuss until everyone of us was satisfied and had the best possible shots. And like a great teacher, he gave us a lot of tasks to frame good compositions at any given places. He would check everyone’s pictures and would discuss on the spot. Evenings were dedicated for discussions and reviews. He reviewed everyone’s best pictures and discussed ways to edit them to enhance their effect. If I were to use a cooking analogy – he’s the master chef mentor who not only gave us the RAW material to cook a good dish, he also taught how to mix all the ingredients and how much to use technology and technical knowledge. By that I mean, he also gave a crash course of Photoshop and Lightroom to make the dish look great and perfectly garnished. Fellow photographer colleagues too made sure to complement Jassi. The bonhomie among the group ensured we took care of each other, clicked, discussed, laughed, shopped, ate and enjoyed the tour thoroughly. And by the end of the tour, every stranger from different parts of India became a close knit family. To summarise, I would request everyone, who reads this testimonial, that if you are passionate about photography, if you are keen on learning photography, if you love to explore places where usually people don’t go, go with Jassi Obaroi (Light Chasers). You won’t get anything but the best. And of course… I wish they had given more stars to rate. 5 stars are just not enough for Jassi jee because “Jassi Jaisa Koi Nahin.”

Prakash Wadhwani (Muscat) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Prakash-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Light Chasers & Jassi Oberai … A well known name that is highly respected in the Photographic Community !! There’s a reason for that … Read On … Ladakh … That word springs visions of prisitine, untouched almost virginal beauty. The scenic splendor of the soaring mountains and enchanting valleys, coupled with the vibrancy of its cultural life, makes Ladakh one of the least discovered destinations; an adventure to feed the soul and enrich the senses. When a friend of mine invited me to join the trip I wasn’t willing as I already had other plans in place. However on hearing the destination (Ladakh) I was tempted … Furthermore when I was informed it was being organized by Light Chasers (Jassi Oberai), that clinched the deal for me. I joined the trip with very high expectations & well … what can I say … each & every one of them were met … and then some more 🙂 Pre-Travel pointers of what to expect with cautionary advice as to the weather conditions, high-altitude care, attire & medical advise, misc things to carry, general caveats, etc. were all there explicitly listed. Any doubts brought up by us were immediately addressed by Jassi, virtually immediately online. Accommodations, Food, Travel Arrangements, Planning, etc. were all bang on. Right from Conception and Inception to Execution … everything went down like clockwork. Now down to technicalities … Jassi is an ocean of knowledge & left no stone unturned to share, tutor & guide all of us present on various aspects from composition & framing to exposure. How to view/assess the frame, what to look for in a frame that would make it eye-catching and an “approach plan” that would ensure a powerful image, were all addressed. On request he even took up a “post-processing” class starting right from the basics of ACR/Lightroom … to migrating the image into Photoshop for advanced processing. This 3-Hour session was crammed with almost 30 hours of goodies. Absolutely Incredible !! Jassi took great pains to ensure the adage … “The devil is in the details”. On this tour we all met, bonded & emerged into 1 “extended family”. “Everyone was there for Everyone”, be it trivial photographic queries, sharing knowledge, having laugh riots, caring for each other during emotional moments or health issues, etc. The blues of breaking away & each going their own separate ways still lingers on, leaving mixed feelings of “highs” of moments shared, tinged with the sadness of separation. On the bright side … we always have more trips to look forward to … with LIGHT CHASERS !! 🙂 Great Value for Money … Nourishing for the Soul …

Ashwini Kumar Gupta (Pune) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Ashwini-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Let me begin by stating that I am a rank beginner in photography and was slightly sceptic while registering for this photo tour. But then I had always wanted to take up photography as a hobby and was also keen on visiting Ladakh. So, I took the plunge after a long period of reflection and am really glad now that I did so. Travelling along with photographers not only allowed me to explore my camera but also made me realize that there can be various different perspectives to look at things. I don’t think it would have been possible to learn so much from a manual, video or workshop. As far as the itinerary is concerned, it was really well planned to include all must-shoot spots. The facilities were as good as they could get at those particular places. Even when the weather played spoilsport with our plans, suitable alternative arrangements were made in no time. Talking about food, it would be easier to just mention that very often we considered rechristening this as a food trip instead. And in between meals, we had a never-ending supply of KFC (Khakhra, Fafda and Chivda). Jassi is a perfect mentor. He not only shared his compositions but also encouraged us to explore on our own. His sessions on exposure, composition and post-processing were like icing on the cake. Jassi even ensured that we all had a generous supply of acclimatization medicine. I am really looking forward to joining Light Chasers for more photo tours in the future and there would be no speck of hesitation in my mind the next time…

Supriya S. (Bangalore) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Supriya-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Ladakh is like the trip of a lifetime for most people. As a photography novice, there was no better place for me to learn the basics than in Ladakh. The endless landscapes, skies that speak, the nicest people would all prove to be perfect photography subjects. And a place like Ladakh deserves people who can help you appreciate & showcase the beauty of this surreal, otherworldly location. Which is why I chose to go with lightchasers. The tour has helped me with the technicality of photography – exposure, aperture, light etc, – in the context of the people and places in Ladakh. The focus is not just on clicking pictures but also connecting with the locals & the places we visit. Travelling with photographers and Jassi has helped me challenge myself – to look around me with a new perspective, one that hopefully does justice to this magnificent place! The locations were thoughtfully chosen. Less touristy places like Turtuk, Dah and Tso Moriri were excellent additions to the itinerary. Jassi is a mentor par excellence. His objective, which he clarified right at the outset, was not to hide from us, but to share all he knows about photography with us. We had structured sessions on composition, exposure & photography equipment and countless impromptu sessions. He shared his compositions with us, provided immediate feedback when asked and constantly motivated us to “see” differently. Photography aside, he was always attentive to our requirements. He was always ready with medicines, food, rest stops to help us cope with the weather in Ladakh. While on the trip to Ladakh, I signed up with them for their Pushkar tour in November. Need I say any more?

Satya Narayan Panda (Gurgaon) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Satya-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Ladakh, was always a dream destination and was there in my travel calendar since last so many years. I always wanted to go on a road trip to Ladakh from Srinagar to Manali via Leh. I had started photography as a hobby very recently (only 7-8 Months back) and for an amateur photographer there is no better place than Ladakh to learn photography basics. The scenic beauty of Ladakh has always attracted tourist from India and abroad, no wonder I was one of them. I have been associated with Jassi (Light Chasers) since past 6-7 months. I have attended couple of photography master class conducted by Canon and mentored by Jassi. Jassi is a tremendous mentor and most importantly he is a gem of a person. His objective is not to hide anything but to share as much as he can to others which you will hardly find these days. This is what attracted me in this organized group tour otherwise I was never a group tour fellow. I had always liked to travel solo or with my family or few friends. The itinerary of Light Chasers had always been different and none of the other group of tour organizers can be compared to it. The Turtuk , Dah Hanu and Aryan Valley (villages at Ladakh ) were the special attractions of this tour. It was a well-organized one and all the accommodations arranged by Jassi were the best and at strategic locations. He always made sure that we had the best possible food throughout the tour and made sure that no one fell sick on this tour. He provided us the “do and don’ts” of the tour and also provided medicines as and when necessary to mitigate high altitude sickness. I can’t even comment on Jassi’s photography skills and knowledge as it beyond my level .For me, he is best mentor I have come across this date. Again he is a gem of a person as mentioned earlier he is always open to any discussions related to photography. I just want to convey for all the PPl reading , “Anyone interested to explore Ladakh and passionate about photography “ – then you have only one choice Jassi “Light Chasers”. Go and click your best of the best images with Jassi which will always will remain close to your heart……

Moushumee K Jha (Gurgaon) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Moushumee-1 Ladakh Testimonials

This was the first time i have ever attended a workshop. I mostly travel alone as it keeps me calm and I am able to focus better. But I gave in to the temptation to travel to the far land of the Lamas with the ‘Light Chasers’ this time, and I came back with a whole new experience. An itinerary packed with action from dusk to dawn, yet laughter, gossip, constructive discussions, reviews, ideas, and work found it’s way to our routine anyways. It was a great team, full of energy and positive attitude. Our Mentor Jasminder Oberoi, made us feel comfortable, and took great care of each one of us, so that we could concentrate only on learning during the entire trip. A great task master when photography is concerned, and at the same time he is one of us while cracking a joke and bursting into laughter every now and then.Thank you Jassi, I am grateful to you for an incredible trip, and to me this is just the beginning of many more such voyages together. You are a great mentor and a wonderful human being. And of course thank you my new extraordinary friends, You all have made this trip such a memorable one..

Dr. Poonam Singh (New Delhi) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Poonam-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Miss the snowfall slicking the high passes and clouds so low
I close my eyes as if I am on a fatal edge
Miss the sound of screechy car brakes on those z hair pin bends across granular pointy mountain erosions
Miss the apparently tiny bikers on those hair pin bends their size mapping the magnitude of the mighty himalayas
Miss the lens’ desparate chase of golden light painting the fossil like architecture of leh
Miss the soupy thukpa,cheesy sabagleb of tibetan kitchen vacillating in the chill of warm sun and the warmth of cool wind
Miss the hilltop perched monasteries with colorful prayer flags & wheels with whitewashed sequence of stupas
Miss those endless drives in infinite ravines with so many shades of brown even nerolac needs a update on shade cards
Miss that first sight of a glint of turqoise pangong tso
when horizon only knew white and brown
Miss the aroma of dalchini green tea with palate burning y y noodles at top of mountain khardung la
Miss seeking intriguing portaitures in hidden village turtuk trekking in the mustard field lined water streams
shoulders just about balancing that heavy lens
Miss those dark nights with clear skies in valleys clutched amidst snowcapped ridges
eyes open sometimes to catch some breath sometimes just to admire the flowery print of tent
Miss the sand dunes of nubra with layers of mountain
trying in vain to capture all dimensions that eyes can possibly see
Miss my confused calls – koi exposure to bata do ,white balance cloud or shade and
those metered discussions in oxygen deprived brains.
Thanks all mates, united in photography that we are,will cross some paths again.

Special thanks to Light Chasers for such a wonderful trip although I don’t need to thank as for me Light Chasers is a family. Dreams do come true.

Haemanth B G (Muscat) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★

Hemanth-Murthy-1 Ladakh Testimonials

It was my right choice to choose Light chasers for Ladakh trip this time. I am very happy to be part of this wonderful group of people and excellent mentor Jassi. One thing I regret is that I failed to recognize the hidden knowledge and experience of our lovely Mentor ‘THE JASSI” and missed to grab his photography experiences. Mr. Jassi you are an excellent person to be with and we never felt we are away from our family.
Being with fellow photographers I could exchange the our experience. The bonding with people I was with made a new group of like minded Light Chasers.

I planned our holidays; as per this schedule to come from Muscat was a right decision. I would be very honored if I get an another opportunity to join Light chasers for future expeditions.

Thank you very much Mr. Jassi for this wonderful experience.

Rakesh Nagavarapu (Bangalore) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Rakesh-1 Ladakh Testimonials

I used to think organised tours are always boring and used to plan by myself. But my perception have completely changed after travelling with Light Chasers for Ladakh trip after a friends’ recommendation. Also, this is my first Photo tour and is a one wonderful experience. Taking off from work for 13 days and travelling is not easy and I can strongly say it one of the best decisions I have taken. It is totally worth it. Jassi, is an amazing man and he takes care of every minute thing and is a meticulous planner. Travel with him, am sure it will change the way you look at things and photography. Coming back from the trip, I was really happy to see the difference in how I have been taking photographs on the first day and the last day. The amount of knowledge he provides is phenomenal. One should be lucky to get a Guru like him. I am thankful for all the guidance he provided in the tour. Highly recommend Light Chasers and I won’t look back travelling with him again!!

Anukriti Mehrotra (New Delhi) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★

Ankuriti-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Every traveler has a different story of Ladakh! Every traveler has a vision that is different from others, when he/she is in Ladakh. Ladakh, the most enchanting destination in India for world & Indian travelers was on my list for a long time. One keeps wondering what’s so different about this beautiful place and why it’s called the Pride of India! Well there are many stories to it, but what’s so different about this place is the amazing culture,people and the most diverse and the most beautiful landscape it has to offer.

Pictures and words, my only tools to capture the overwhelming physical and emotional experience of driving through one of the most awe-inspiring places on earth, Leh- Ladakh. The land of soaring Himalayan peaks and swirling, mighty rivers, serene Gompas and the occasional tinkle of a bell from a yak, Ladakh is a land which beckons you to visit again and again.

So when I got the opportunity to go there under the guidance of Jassi sir, I was very excited to explore the most untouched place in India. As a photography mentor, he is very simple and helpful. Whenever we were in some difficulties whether, about the composition , lights or any technical thing regarding photography, he was always there to guide us. He shared his views, experiences, compositions with us. He gave immediate feedback when asked and constantly motivated us.

During my trip, I was really interested in capturing the lifestyle and culture of ladakhi people rather than landscape. Living with them, observing their culture, and learning so much from them was a heartfelt experience. Their beautiful match-box like Ladakhi houses, with organic gardens, cosy rooms, hundreds of copper utensils, and the warm families living there, left a great impression on me.

The high altitude of Ladakh makes for an interesting transition. I was careful not to exert too much energy during the first few days. The first time that I noticed the effects of the high altitude, and so much of travelling, was when I sucked with back pain and it was killing me from inside, but I was strong enough from inside to recover that pain after seeing the children and people who live there in that hard conditions and even they work hard with smile on their face all the time.

The hotels and tents were very comfortable to stay, and were at the right places throughout the tour.

Our journey on-wards to Nubra Valley took us through Khardung La – the highest motor-able road in the world. When we reached the highest point of the Pass, I felt like I had reached the top of the world – it was a surreal feeling. There was a small cafeteria run by the Indian Military serving tea and coffee to travelers. Hats off to these soldiers! There were many other awe moment for me in the whole tour of Leh-Ladakh.

I think this applies to all the traveling I’ve done, but even more so to Ladakh – the memories that stay with me long after I have returned to the traffic and expensive multiplex tickets, are of the people I had met and a small slice of their life-philosophy, which has been shaped by their religion and their unique natural environment.

Rohith Patil (Bangalore) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Rohith-1 Ladakh Testimonials

The Photography expedition to Ladakh with the Light Chasers, was my first ever Photography expedition, having started photography quite recently. Hence, I did not have know what a photography expedition would be like and what to expect. I must say that it was truly a wonderful experience. I had an opportunity to click along side senior & professional photographers. What I have learned in this expedition was a lot more than I learned from when I started photography. The tour was very well organized & executed. I think Jassi knows Ladakh at the back of his hand. With him we could take pictures of the best views, we had an opportunity to look at his pictures and understand how it was taken and learn from them. He would look at our pictures and advice us on how it can be improved. He is not only a good mentor but, also a great person to be with. We had a lot of fun during the tour and truly enjoyed his company. Even though there were close to 15 people in the group, he managed to connect with each & every one in the group. We were like one big happy family. Thank you Jassi, for giving me such great memories of my very first photography expedition. It is something I will cherish forever. Hope to be part of more such expeditions with you, in the future. Good luck….. !!!

Suvabrata Guhathakurta (Mumbai) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★

Suvabrata-1 Ladakh Testimonials

This was an extraordinary experience for me to visit and shoot in a part of my country I have not seen before with such amazing topography and in company of so many highly talented photographers and genuine human beings.

This was my second trip with Light Chasers and I must say that I was overwhelmed all over again. Each location we visited was meticulously chosen to cater to the focused style of photography. Our stay and travel was immaculately planned and the best available facilities were offered to us. The way they reacted to sudden weather changes and emergencies that arose with deft skill was really outstanding.

Jassi has always been forthright in sharing his art and a trip with him is a treasure trove of learning about different photographic skills, different equipment and just tricks of the trade.

it was sheer pleasure to be on this trip and look forward to many more…

Abhishek Dhakate (Nagpur) – Mesmerising Ladakh (June 2015)

★★★★★

Abhishek-2-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Ladakh is indeed a dream Destination for everyone, but it is said for photographers it is a place of pilgrimage. Finally this year I decided to go for ‘Pilgrimage’…! When it comes to Photography education, I have always chosen Light Chasers. It was two years ago that I met Jassi when I was attending his workshop,’After the Shot’ organised in Nagpur. Jassi has been a mentor and a guide for me since then.

Ladakh is very different other hill stations. The weather is tricky. High altitudes takes a toll on the body if proper care and preventive measures are not taken. Apart from this, shooting in this terrain is altogether a very different task. Composing images in Ladakh is difficult. The light changes there every second. And how can one forget the freezing cold. Places like Pangong lake, Khardung La and even Leh are too cold, specially for a guy like me who is used to heat of Nagpur where we have 47 degrees.
However, on the very first day we all were provided with some special meds that helped us to acclimatize. Not only these but whenever we were supposed to travel to higher altitudes different medicines were given.
Jassi had been guiding us right from day one of the tour. Before we left for shooting at any place, Jassi not only briefed us about the specific spots from where we could shoot but also showed some of the images that he had taken. This not only helped us to pre visualise but it also gave us an idea about the compositions that could be made.

Whenever I clicked he was always there constantly mentoring about the small and minute mistakes that I made, this gave me an opportunity to rectify immediately. This tour taught me how to compose an image in a better way. I also learned some new techniques which I din’t know about before. With every single shot that I clicked, I learned something new. Jassi has taught us to see things from a different perspective. I personally love shooting portraits. Turtuk and Da Hanu Village gave us the best opportunity to click people. Jassi explained every small details about portraits. In the whole tour he was there for all of us. We had photographers who were at different stages of learning. He made sure to answer all our doubts and brought out the best out of us.!

This tour has indeed been the most memorable one I have ever been to. It is the hard work of Jassi Sir and his team who work tirelessly to make it happen. I am grateful and indeed blessed to have Jassi Sir as my Mentor. . . No words can express my love and gratitude for Him. I wish him all the very best for the future and I know ‘we’ will be the BEST Brand in Photography Tours and Education.

Yogesh Gupta (Faridabad) – Ladakh in Winters (Jan 2016)

★★★★★

Yogesh-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Photography is not in my genes. No one in any generation of my family knows about photography. I love to travel and click pictures as all the tourists do. It was Nov. 2013 when I first travelled to Leh with my staff. In that tour I borrowed a DSLR from my friend and clicked photos in Auto mode as he had suggested. When I came back and saw the photos, I was fascinated by the place. I wished to come to Leh again. That tour generated some interest in photography and I bought by first DSLR which was Canon 1200D with kit lens.
I read and watched some videos to learn photography. I also attended a couple of beginner workshops to learn the art. I don’t know when did I start taking this hobby seriosly and purchased Canon 7D with some lenses. Now I tour very often only for photography.
Once I attended a PW with Light Chasers to Lotus Temple. It was an awesome and unique experience. From that day I wanted to join Jassi Sir for workshops and photo tours but personal commitments did not allow that. When I saw his tour “Ladakh in Winters”, I decided to attend this. On 16th Jan, my wishes came true. I was in Leh and also a part of Jassi sir’s photo tour.
This tour is not all about photography, learning sessions and other technical debates but is also about meeting some beautiful souls. Its about exploring Leh like never before. This tour groomed me to be a good person and may be even a good photographer. The way Jassi sir conducted the post sessions was very fruitful and I personally learnt many things about photography.
Many many thanks Jasi sir for this awesome experience. Hope to make you proud with my photography some day. Will never forget this tour and all the great people. Long live Light Chasers. #PassionYourLife

Jeremy Turner (Rome, Italy) – Ladakh in Winters (Jan 2016)

★★★★★

Jeremy-1 Ladakh Testimonials

I returned to Italy yesterday from Jassi’s photo tour to Ladakh. In short, this trip provided memories for a life time: a small group of enthusiasts quickly bonding through a shared desire to be better clickers; trips to rivers, monasteries and lakes in freezing weather, crossing the highest and the third highest road passes in the world; an unscheduled tea party hosted by the tough soldiers of the Indian Army on the freezing ChangLa pass (at -38 degrees C), lots of laughter and much much more!!

Jassi was our mentor: a calm and motivated professional who could provide answers to the most challenging of questions and yet still have the time and patience to answer the simplest question about the technical or artistic elements of photography, all supported by his obvious passion for the subject. Logistics were well handled and Harish provided full support wherever needed. My main comment might be to suggest that the trip could benefit from being 2 or 3 days longer; the schedule was packed full and additional time for relaxing, for reflection and perhaps for sharing and critically reviewing each others efforts under Jassi’s eye would have been valuable. I’d also suggest the day trip to Pangong Tso could be optional – 10 hours driving was pretty tough for some of us. But all in all, my conclusion: this trip was a once in a lifetime experience. Put it on your bucket list. Thanks to Jassi and all the members of the group!!

Dr. Nafisa Shakir Batta (New Delhi) – Ladakh in Winters Jan 2016

★★★★★

Nafisa-1 Ladakh Testimonials

I would like to express my gratitude for the tremendously impactful winter photo tour of Leh 17-21st Jan 2016. I’m an absolute novice, this is my first photo tour, first trip to Leh, and first exposure to -38C !. Although the tour itinerary was heavily scheduled, we moved seamlessly through the well-chosen locales, enjoyed the company of our group, shared travel stories and life’s philosophies, while Jassi with his upbeat demeanor and sincere patience allowed the day to end only after all questions were answered, and all queries discussed. Harish Bhargava from letsleh.com cheerfully managed the travel and arrangements.It may seem a bit cliche or formulaic, but I truly believe that these days had a deep and lasting educational value, I came back with a sense of accomplishment ( for braving out the cold with my kind of madcaps) and feel far more confident ,ready to explore and invest in my photography skills.

Lee Joshua (Singapore) – Ladakh in Winters Jan 2016

★★★★★

Lee-Joshua-1 Ladakh Testimonials

Ladakh was beautiful and deciding on a tour for it was immediate the moment I saw Jassi’s photo tour.One of the best birthday present I’ve given myself so far. breath taking views and well… literally at the top of the world. amazing logistic and well planned accommodation. Jassi was passionate about his work and he’s a very genuine mentor who shares what he knows. he would be honest about things he do not know and would make an effort to find out and share with you. he would share as much as he could so as long as you’re able to learn. he knows the place well and that’s the best part about it. you don’t have to stumble across to find spots to take beautiful images. learnt a lot from him and definitely looking forward to more tours with Jassi if ever there’s another chance for it. p/s: gear up appropriately for winter in ladakh as there’s was one spot where it was -38c. keep warm and click well.

Punkaj Gupta (Bangalore) – Ladakh in Winters (Jan 2016)

★★★★★

Punkaj-1 Ladakh Testimonials

I had the opportunity to attend the Ladakh in Winters tour in Jan’16. I planned this trip, much against the liking of my family and friends due to the extreme weather conditions during the winter months, as “Ladakh in Winters” was on my bucket list. If I could turn back the clock, I would still choose to go ahead with it despite scares of temperatures averaging -35 degrees Celsius and extremely low oxygen levels at such high altitudes. But I am also not sure if the tour would have been equally enjoyable and productive if not for Jassi. Jassi treated the group more like a family by taking such good care of us and trying to make sure we get more than what we came for as much as possible. Taking care of each of our individual preferences and health was always on top of his mind. I have been to several other photography tours where the mentor is “just doing his job”, but the personal touch and the huge experience which Jassi has, is unmatched.

Pin It on Pinterest